top of page

Chapter History

Theta Eta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 3, 1971, by seven women who wanted to make a positive impact on the Greater Cleveland community.

Originally chartered at Cleveland State University, Theta Eta Chapter is now citywide and includes eight schools: Baldwin Wallace University, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland Institute of Art, Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland State University, John Carroll University, Notre Dame College and Ursuline College.

Today, Theta Eta Chapter continues to serve the Greater Cleveland community and our campuses. The Theta Eta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. continues to set standards for academic excellence as well as lead and assist students and individuals in the community. We host and participate in numerous programs and events to raise awareness on such topics as Domestic Violence, Lupus, HIV/AIDS, Sexual Education, Mental and Physical Health, Voter Rights, and Self Defense. The chapter serves in many capacities such as volunteering at local churches to distribute food and clothes, volunteering at the Cleveland Foodbank, donating family Christmas gifts to women's crisis centers, and collecting and donating school supplies to local elementary school students. We continually strive to fill the needs of our local community!


For more information, visit our national website at You can also visit the Midwest Region's website at

bottom of page